New Cars and Bikes in India

Tata Harrier Reviews

User Rating and Reviews

3.6 / 5.0 Write a Review
Displaying Reviews 1-5 of 7
Sort by :
  • XZ (Diesel)

    Major issue of quality check

    Deepak Trivedi Jun 16, 2019 05:56 PM
    I purchased vehicle on 30.05.19. Had to sent vehicle two times to Concord. Major issue with steering and cooling. Even after Concord replaced steering in new vehicle, issue remains. Continuous vibrations while driving and even when vehicle is standing.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      0 of them share their views
  • XZ (Diesel)

    Best SUV in this segment!!!

    Nishanth Ch Jun 12, 2019 12:27 AM
    I have been waiting for this car since AutoExpo 2018. And I have become the 75th customer in entire country (and obviously in entire world) to buy this vehicle. But I have made inquiries into other cars in this segment. That is the competitors of Harrier. They are Jeep Compass and XUV 500. I have removed Hyundai Tucson from this list as it is heavily priced for the performance and features it provides. First I have eliminated XUV500. The car is extremely spacious and extremely light to handle easily. But I did not like 1. The looks of XUV500 W11, both exterior and interior compared to Harrier or Compass. 2. Sound system is pretty ordinary too, compared to Compass and Harrier. 3. The horse power is bit higher for XUV500 compared to Harrier (comes into play after a speed of 120kmph - which I have no intentions of crossing on Indian road conditions). 4. And it has got sunroof (which is awkwardly placed between the front and rear seats inaccessible to either row). 5. And it has got disc brakes for all wheels (which is not a necessity to me, until the braking does the sudden halts for me efficiently). Then I have had tough time to eliminate Jeep Compass. Because the built and looks of Compass are exceptionally great. The quality reminded me of Benz, BMW premium cars in terms of drive quality, NVH levels in cabin, suspension, heavy and safe feeling inside the car. Overall there are lots of premium touches for Compass.The reasons for eliminating Compass are: 1. The base variant Compass Sport on road price is 20.5 lakhs - the same price as top variant of Harrier XZ. 2. The safety features provided in Harrier like ESP, Corner stability, Roll over mitigation control, 6 air bags are provide in compass starting from Compass Limited 4x4 edition which is priced at 27 lakhs on road. 3. Even if I go with Compass Sport, basic requirements like good leather seats, reverse parking camera, reverse parking sensors, fog lamps, projector headlamps etc should be bought as additional accessories - despite shelling 20.5 lakhs. 4. Space of Compass is enough for 5 people, but the rear seats are uncomfortably vertical, causing pains and cramps in abdomen for a bit fat people on long drives. So I bought Harrier XZ and got it delivered on Feb 10th 2019 and roamed more than 5000 kms till date. The following are pros and cons I have observed. Pros: 1. The turning radius is very good. 2. The hydraulic steering gives wonderful control on the car. Even at low speeds, the steering is not heavy. 3. Very comfortable seats even for a huge person. For long drives these are very apt. 4. Excellent infotainment system. Sound system is extraordinary. The touch panel is very responsive and feather touch. Android Autoplay works brilliantly. The dashboard just behind steering is very helpful to check distance to empty, mileage the car is returning. 5. Air conditioning for both front and rear is brilliant. 6. Braking is excellent and adequate even in high speeds (though rear brakes are drum cylinder brakes). Had an unfortunate chance of testing Corner stability Program. A sudden turn by a biker on highway made me steer hard right. CSP immediatley kicked in and safely did the turn in opposite direction and turned me on to highway after crossing the obstacle. 7. ESP programs all are efficient and highly useful. Because of the drive modes, I have an experience of driving 3 different cars as economy mode converts the car engine power to 110 PS, city mode to 125 PS and Sport mode to 140 PS. 8. Enormous boot space - I have literally packed my family's (consists of 5 adults) entire clothes packed into the boot. Nothing more to say. Cons: 1. Front view of the car is bit dull and not so eye catching. The tata logo doesn't help much either to cotradict. The car catches eye only when the side or back of the car comes into view. 2. The right side ORVM clubbed with the A pillar creates a huge blindspot. Twice I almost had an accident, and once I gave a slight nudge to a scooterist. 3. The Xenon HID projector headlamps are very bright, but when faced with beam lights of opposite vehicles, some blindspots are created. Need extra LED lights to be installed if you are regular in driving on highways, which don't cover opposite vehicle beam lights. Overall Performance: The handling of the car in any road conditions is excellent in this price range. Whether it be braking, suspension or steering control, everything is exceptional about this car. Talk about comfort, and there is no better seating than Harrier (except of middle person in rear seat). The pickup of the car is magnificient in sport mode. Not so exciting in other driving modes. And coming to mileage, I have travelled from Vijayawada to Tirupati a distance of 450 kms and it cost me 30 litres of diesel at speeds of 120 kmph on highways. This care is built for long drives and it shows. After sale services: Surprised to say this, but the after sale service of Tata is very good. Very good is a huge leap from very bad in terms of servie of Tata in passenger vehicle segment. The approach to customer and his concerns has changed a lot. They have been provocative all the time in resolving small issues I had initially. And door delivery service, suggestions of what kind of service is apt for the car condition has been excellent so far. Overall, I am happy with customer service till date.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      2 of them share their views
  • XE (Diesel)

    Dreamland harrier

    Ramjat choudhary Jun 07, 2019 04:06 PM
    Best car in history of tata cars
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      26 of them share their views
    • 14 days ago
      I was faced engine problem after 2 Months worst Cars realizing from TATA They are spoiling life of Normal People . They are doing fording business and worst showrooms and they are cheaters. World worst car is a TATA Cars. They spoiled my life.
  • XM (Diesel)

    Harrier masterpiece by tata

    Shekhar Jun 05, 2019 11:20 AM
    Owned harrier 1 month before excellent car very good boot space and comfort is best in its segment only con milege give me 11 kmpl
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      1 of them share their views
  • XZ (Diesel)

    BEWARE!!DON'T BUY Tata Harrier (MUST READ)

    Vipin Kumar Mittal May 19, 2019 02:51 PM
    I am Vipin Kumar Mittal. I purchased Tata harrier XZ from Malwa Automobiles, rohini Delhi. There are major manufacturing defects in Tata harrier which I have experienced while driving the car for 7000 kilometres. 1.The right hand side mirror is too big which blocks the view of the right side while turning right. I was about to meet accident many times. So turning right is very difficult in crowded areas. 2. The bonnet is too high which blocks front view. 3. The front USB port is hard-to-reach.Connecting charges is very difficult. 4. The USB port at the back is very low and hard to reach. 5. The Cruise turns off while driving many times. 6. Low speed at 2nd gear the car stops with a sudden jerk because of the presence of double freewheel . It was also given in Tata Aria which had the same problem which caused its failure 7. When we turn full left or right there is a strange sound and alignment problem. 8. There is a mismatch in the adjustment of 3 position headlamp and fog light. 9. The length of back seat is less and there's no sitting comfort. 10.The car is now giving an average of 12.6 kmpl with AC which is very low in long drives. Tata has no return policy and I am not at all satisfied with the car. There's a danger of meeting accidents due to these defects and Tata Motors will be responsible for this. I will put a banner on my car"I AM NOT SATISFIED WITH TATA HARRIER" front and back if Tata doesn't take the car back to let people know about the failures of this car. I will definitely go to the court to see you tata if the card is not taken back till 31st May.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      0 of them share their views
  • XM (Diesel)

    Purely Indian engineering. bad experience

    Roopesh Purushothaman May 16, 2019 06:31 PM
    Got my Harrier delivered day before yesterday and found; Look wise it’s cool Performance also ok Comfort wise it’s ok Safety wise driving is horrible as engine stops even while running especially while on traffic and while driving on bumps and gutters. Visibility while taking sharp curves is absolutely zero as truck size mirrors blinds the vision, it’s impossible to see any vehicles or anything on driver side on curves. Am much worried about my life as I need to travel Wayanad of Kerala as it’s full of hairpin bends. As a solution am proposing to fix my mirrors upside down or to fix a camera for driver side asap. As the vehicle is made by TATA am not expecting any solutions from company side.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      5 of them share their views
  • XZ (Diesel)

    SUOER PRODUCT BY TATA

    MANISH May 12, 2019 02:21 PM
    GUYS THOSE WHO WANT TO BUY THIS SUV PLZ GO FOR DO NOT WASTE TIME. IT IS SUERB . LOOK IS VERY STYLISH, EYE CATCHING VEHICHLE EVERY THING IS WONDER FULL I DROVE IT UP TO 300KM & MY EXPERIENCE WITHIT IS SUPERB .IT IS VERY VERY PEPPY.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      0 of them share their views

Expert Reviews