Tata Harrier Reviews

User Rating and Reviews

3.5 / 5.0 ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ Write a Review
  • ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
  • ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
  • ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
  • ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
  • ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
  • ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
  • ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
  • ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
Displaying Reviews 1-5 of 20
Sort by :
  • XZ (Diesel)

    Best SUV in this segment!!!

    Nishanth Ch
    I have been waiting for this car since AutoExpo 2018. And I have become the 75th customer in entire country (and obviously in entire world) to buy this vehicle. But I have made inquiries into other cars in this segment. That is the competitors of Harrier. They are Jeep Compass and XUV 500. I have removed Hyundai Tucson from this list as it is heavily priced for the performance and features it provides. First I have eliminated XUV500. The car is extremely spacious and extremely light to handle easily. But I did not like 1. The looks of XUV500 W11, both exterior and interior compared to Harrier or Compass. 2. Sound system is pretty ordinary too, compared to Compass and Harrier. 3. The horse power is bit higher for XUV500 compared to Harrier (comes into play after a speed of 120kmph - which I have no intentions of crossing on Indian road conditions). 4. And it has got sunroof (which is awkwardly placed between the front and rear seats inaccessible to either row). 5. And it has got disc brakes for all wheels (which is not a necessity to me, until the braking does the sudden halts for me efficiently). Then I have had tough time to eliminate Jeep Compass. Because the built and looks of Compass are exceptionally great. The quality reminded me of Benz, BMW premium cars in terms of drive quality, NVH levels in cabin, suspension, heavy and safe feeling inside the car. Overall there are lots of premium touches for Compass.The reasons for eliminating Compass are: 1. The base variant Compass Sport on road price is 20.5 lakhs - the same price as top variant of Harrier XZ. 2. The safety features provided in Harrier like ESP, Corner stability, Roll over mitigation control, 6 air bags are provide in compass starting from Compass Limited 4x4 edition which is priced at 27 lakhs on road. 3. Even if I go with Compass Sport, basic requirements like good leather seats, reverse parking camera, reverse parking sensors, fog lamps, projector headlamps etc should be bought as additional accessories - despite shelling 20.5 lakhs. 4. Space of Compass is enough for 5 people, but the rear seats are uncomfortably vertical, causing pains and cramps in abdomen for a bit fat people on long drives. So I bought Harrier XZ and got it delivered on Feb 10th 2019 and roamed more than 5000 kms till date. The following are pros and cons I have observed. Pros: 1. The turning radius is very good. 2. The hydraulic steering gives wonderful control on the car. Even at low speeds, the steering is not heavy. 3. Very comfortable seats even for a huge person. For long drives these are very apt. 4. Excellent infotainment system. Sound system is extraordinary. The touch panel is very responsive and feather touch. Android Autoplay works brilliantly. The dashboard just behind steering is very helpful to check distance to empty, mileage the car is returning. 5. Air conditioning for both front and rear is brilliant. 6. Braking is excellent and adequate even in high speeds (though rear brakes are drum cylinder brakes). Had an unfortunate chance of testing Corner stability Program. A sudden turn by a biker on highway made me steer hard right. CSP immediatley kicked in and safely did the turn in opposite direction and turned me on to highway after crossing the obstacle. 7. ESP programs all are efficient and highly useful. Because of the drive modes, I have an experience of driving 3 different cars as economy mode converts the car engine power to 110 PS, city mode to 125 PS and Sport mode to 140 PS. 8. Enormous boot space - I have literally packed my family's (consists of 5 adults) entire clothes packed into the boot. Nothing more to say. Cons: 1. Front view of the car is bit dull and not so eye catching. The tata logo doesn't help much either to cotradict. The car catches eye only when the side or back of the car comes into view. 2. The right side ORVM clubbed with the A pillar creates a huge blindspot. Twice I almost had an accident, and once I gave a slight nudge to a scooterist. 3. The Xenon HID projector headlamps are very bright, but when faced with beam lights of opposite vehicles, some blindspots are created. Need extra LED lights to be installed if you are regular in driving on highways, which don't cover opposite vehicle beam lights. Overall Performance: The handling of the car in any road conditions is excellent in this price range. Whether it be braking, suspension or steering control, everything is exceptional about this car. Talk about comfort, and there is no better seating than Harrier (except of middle person in rear seat). The pickup of the car is magnificient in sport mode. Not so exciting in other driving modes. And coming to mileage, I have travelled from Vijayawada to Tirupati a distance of 450 kms and it cost me 30 litres of diesel at speeds of 120 kmph on highways. This care is built for long drives and it shows. After sale services: Surprised to say this, but the after sale service of Tata is very good. Very good is a huge leap from very bad in terms of servie of Tata in passenger vehicle segment. The approach to customer and his concerns has changed a lot. They have been provocative all the time in resolving small issues I had initially. And door delivery service, suggestions of what kind of service is apt for the car condition has been excellent so far. Overall, I am happy with customer service till date.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      17 of them share their views
  • XZ (Diesel)

    Driving Landrover with Tata Badge

    Praveen Kumar
    I was never in like with Tata cars. This my first Tata car. The car is a beautiful piece of machine sculptured by JLR Team. Styling and Interior top notch. Ride and handling awesome. I have driven Creta and XUV a lot but it is no where close to harrier when comes to handling. I see lot of negatives from people saying bonnet high, mirror big did you guys test drive or just blindly buy it. Shorter guys might suffer might be Creta will suit you instead of buying a beast you should have gone with those i20 platform cars. I have done 7000kms and still enjoying the ride everyday with the car. The car has little niggles which you expect in any car. Tata is doing frequent check of cars and replacing parts after they hear back from Customers.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      11 of them share their views
  • XZ (Diesel)

    Best Indian car ever.

    Chetan Yadav
    I drive it above 25k and can say it's the safest and most comfy car ever in Indian market.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      8 of them share their views
  • XZ (Diesel)

    Furstrated and dissatisfied

    Vishnu
    am Vishnu from bangalore I have purchased a New Tata Harrier XZ Car from Kropex Auto Pvt Ltd, Hosur Road Showroom on 13.06.2019. I regret to inform that on 11.09.2019 around 9:00 Am , we noticed that heavy white smoke coming from Engine while driving on Electronic City flyover. Immediately we stopped the vehicle and informed to Kropex sevice center and Highway Patrol. The Tata Road side assistance Boy came and informed us to leave the vehicle in kropex Service center in order to check the problem. The car was in Kropex Service center for 2 days on 11.09.2019 and 12.09.2019 . I was informed that there was a problem in the clutch plates and were replaced. Meanwhile 2nd free service was also done during this same time. We got our vehicle delivered on 13.09.2019 evening after confirmation that the problem was attended and resolved and also 2nd free servicing. The car was taken out only on 14.09.2019 evening for a drive after it returned from servicing on 13.09.2019 evening. Yet again the same problem arised on 14.09.2019 evening around 7.00 PM near Attibele Toll gate . The clutch and gear got jammed and heavy smoke came out from the engine. All the family members were in the car. Immediately all came out and parked vehicle. The issue was again informed to Kropex Service and also complained to Tata Customer care regarding the same. There was a heavy smoke coming out from engine continuously till 30 mins. The road side assistance person arrived after 1.30 hours of informing the issue and has taken the vehicle again for checking the problem. The same issue has happened again which only means that there is a lacuna in addressing and resolving the issue which had happened on 11.09.2019. We can come to conclusion that nothing had been resolved during the 2 days 11.09.2019 and 12.09.2019 wherein the car was at service center only. It is really shocking to me and my family members , and are fearing about travelling in this car. It is a brand new car and hardly 3 months old which is purchased on a loan. I am mentally distressed due to the above issue . We had our plans for long weekend trips . But in case the same issue happens in middle of journey , it ruins the entire peace of family. Also our time is wasted due to the follow ups for resolving and addressing the issue. I am very disappointed ,dissatisfied and deeply regret for having bought this car.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      22 of them share their views
  • XZ (Diesel)

    BEWARE!!DON'T BUY Tata Harrier (MUST READ)

    Vipin Kumar Mittal
    I am Vipin Kumar Mittal. I purchased Tata harrier XZ from Malwa Automobiles, rohini Delhi. There are major manufacturing defects in Tata harrier which I have experienced while driving the car for 7000 kilometres. 1.The right hand side mirror is too big which blocks the view of the right side while turning right. I was about to meet accident many times. So turning right is very difficult in crowded areas. 2. The bonnet is too high which blocks front view. 3. The front USB port is hard-to-reach.Connecting charges is very difficult. 4. The USB port at the back is very low and hard to reach. 5. The Cruise turns off while driving many times. 6. Low speed at 2nd gear the car stops with a sudden jerk because of the presence of double freewheel . It was also given in Tata Aria which had the same problem which caused its failure 7. When we turn full left or right there is a strange sound and alignment problem. 8. There is a mismatch in the adjustment of 3 position headlamp and fog light. 9. The length of back seat is less and there's no sitting comfort. 10.The car is now giving an average of 12.6 kmpl with AC which is very low in long drives. Tata has no return policy and I am not at all satisfied with the car. There's a danger of meeting accidents due to these defects and Tata Motors will be responsible for this. I will put a banner on my car"I AM NOT SATISFIED WITH TATA HARRIER" front and back if Tata doesn't take the car back to let people know about the failures of this car. I will definitely go to the court to see you tata if the card is not taken back till 31st May.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      59 of them share their views
  • XE (Diesel)

    Dreamland harrier

    Ramjat choudhary
    Best car in history of tata cars
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      68 of them share their views
    • 04-Jun-19 03:14 PM
      I was faced engine problem after 2 Months worst Cars realizing from TATA They are spoiling life of Normal People . They are doing fording business and worst showrooms and they are cheaters. World worst car is a TATA Cars. They spoiled my life.
  • XM (Diesel)

    Purely Indian engineering. bad experience

    Roopesh Purushothaman
    Got my Harrier delivered day before yesterday and found; Look wise it’s cool Performance also ok Comfort wise it’s ok Safety wise driving is horrible as engine stops even while running especially while on traffic and while driving on bumps and gutters. Visibility while taking sharp curves is absolutely zero as truck size mirrors blinds the vision, it’s impossible to see any vehicles or anything on driver side on curves. Am much worried about my life as I need to travel Wayanad of Kerala as it’s full of hairpin bends. As a solution am proposing to fix my mirrors upside down or to fix a camera for driver side asap. As the vehicle is made by TATA am not expecting any solutions from company side.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      26 of them share their views
  • XM (Diesel)

    Bad car in smoothness.

    Gaurav rastogi
    Tata harrier is good in looks only.donot purchase this car as from day first of purchase am facing stereo hanging problem.gear shift is not smooth. Burning smell comes if car moves in jam of 15 to 20 min.please donot spend your hard earn money on this car.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      4 of them share their views
  • XZ (Diesel)

    Worst Product in Automobile industry

    Pradeep
    I had earlier Tata Nexon and drove it for one year 20,000kms and sold it to mainly purchase Tata Harrier ,but I'm very much unsatisfied because of its several software issues and speaker and milage issues ,each month new problem is arising in this car,I don't recommend anyone to purchase this car giving a huge amount of money which is not in good quality.. we are facing lots of issues in this car within 5months itself. Those problems are: 1. As soon as we bought the car, the reverse camera didn’t work at all,it was totally blank. 2.The quality of the AC button is not proper as the layer of the botton peeled off completely. 3. Facing this problem often regarding the front left side speaker is not working while driving. 4. Those indications are been shown in the speedometer display area are: # DRIVE MODE MALFUNCTION (drive control system fault ) # ELECTRONIC STABILITY SYSTEM( malfuction detected) #TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM ( malfunction detected) #HILL DESCEND CONTROL ( malfunction defected) #HILL HOLD CONTROL ( malfunction detected) 5. As the car was in neutral gear the reverse camera was ON and I tried in several ways to cancel it but finally I drew along with the reverse camera ON,the other buttons on display got hanged in Multimedia Player display. 6. While the car was in motion ,I usually keep driving in ECO mode but automatically the ECO mode got cancelled during driving, and after that none of the modes are been activated such as CITY drive mode, SPORTS drive, WET drive mode, ROUGH drive mode ,etc..) 7.As the Tata company persons asked my car for the updation of cultch spring,AC button control pannel replacement boot opening button replacement,etc and after we received the car we felt that the cultch spring was making a lot of noice. 8.During this week I gave my car for free service but they claimed Rs 213 ( as minimum charge for general service) Due to all these issues we are very much unsatisfied ,upset and we had discomfort to these problems ,we are having proof for every issues we have faced during these 5 months. So for all my car problems your company is responsible, kindly replace the car or return our money
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      11 of them share their views
  • Excellent SUV to drive

    Sudhakar
    Excellent SUV to drive..Missed some feel good features like Sunroof, etc
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      3 of them share their views
  • XZ Dual Tone (Diesel)

    Same old Tata problems

    andrea
    From the outside at at a stand still it looks great.step inside and at first glance it seems Tata has finally achieved the impossible, but a closer look will reveal the same quality issues. The front door quarter panel has a massive gap between the door and the framework..its a disgrace. The ride is stiff and for a car that size adaptive suspension should have been a given. Tata like always can't think beyond the reasonable..the mindset of cheapness continues. This was a great chance to change their image...Since the engine is from Fiat one can't blame Tata for the pedestrian performance.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      9 of them share their views
  • XT (Diesel)

    If steering and suspension fails i what about airbags

    Harrier Owner
    So far plenty of people including me are facing issues that can be clearly identified. And this is right after purchasing the vehicle. Plus the customer care refuses to even repair it a timely manner. The question is what is the guarantee that the airbags and safety features will work when you need them?
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      9 of them share their views
  • XM (Diesel)

    Awesome xuv in this segment

    Ebin
    Nothing to say its awesome in this xuv segment. Value for money.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      2 of them share their views
  • Tata harrier' Head lamp is looking not good.

    Sameer Verma
    Change the head lamps style. Mg hactor head lamps is better then Tata harrier head lamp. Steel baundary and deep light are looking for good. And attractive any person. Pls mg hactor lights copy for Tata harrier
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      2 of them share their views
  • XM (Diesel)

    Harrier masterpiece by tata

    Shekhar
    Owned harrier 1 month before excellent car very good boot space and comfort is best in its segment only con milege give me 11 kmpl
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      5 of them share their views
  • XZ (Diesel)

    SUOER PRODUCT BY TATA

    MANISH
    GUYS THOSE WHO WANT TO BUY THIS SUV PLZ GO FOR DO NOT WASTE TIME. IT IS SUERB . LOOK IS VERY STYLISH, EYE CATCHING VEHICHLE EVERY THING IS WONDER FULL I DROVE IT UP TO 300KM & MY EXPERIENCE WITHIT IS SUPERB .IT IS VERY VERY PEPPY.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      5 of them share their views
  • XT (Diesel)

    Must Know Cutting Edge Features

    AS
    State of the art products reflecting TATA Motors’ contribution to the world of design (constantly flashing tail lights lights and musical suspensions), precision engineering ( gearbox with reverse and fifth gear off by less than the thickness of human hair), technology (advanced dog wistles inplace of speakers for safety) and safety (advanced airbags for carrying groceries safely). The thing has all sorts of problems within weeks of purchasing it. Customer care agents ate absconding from the scene. Spare parts take days to arrive.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      3 of them share their views
  • XZ (Diesel)

    Major issue of quality check

    Deepak Trivedi
    I purchased vehicle on 30.05.19. Had to sent vehicle two times to Concord. Major issue with steering and cooling. Even after Concord replaced steering in new vehicle, issue remains. Continuous vibrations while driving and even when vehicle is standing.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      6 of them share their views
  • XM (Diesel)

    Tata Harrier XM Variant DO NOT BUY

    Lakshman Bhatnagar
    Bought Tata Harrier XM variant on 10.09.19.From the begining car is beset with varioys issues.Infotainment system provided is thebiggest sham.Less than two weeks have been to the service centre three times , their certified engineer is cluless , on all occasions video of the malfunction was shared with the service centre.Customer Care is pathetic , they refuse to accept the inherent defects of their system , Tata Motors regional service manager Mr Sohaib Ghosh tells us that all cars have defects its normal , can u imagine a response like that when u are spending such a large amount of money to purchase a car.Dealer Sagar motors sector 5 noida is only intrested in sellinv the car & then they just turn their backs to you.Cannot imagine how Tata / Sagar motors can treat us this way, future customer's please be warned if you intend to purchase the flagship Harrier
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      3 of them share their views
  • XZ Dual Tone (Diesel)

    Best car under Rs. 20 Lakhs

    Utsav Kumar
    Harrier is for sure the best suv one can buy under Rs. 20 lakhs. The road presence is massive and looks very intimidating to the naked eyes. The interiors are something you won’t find even in a 30laks car . Fit and finish are also better than that of it’s rivals. There are however some omissions like sunroof , 360 camera, TPMS and connected car features but those aren’t a deal breaker as we get a very solid car with Land Rover DNA. If we talk about the drivability then Harrier is way ahead of it’s competitors... The driving dynamic and the manner in which Harrier glides on roads is something you won’t find in an another car in this price range...Harrier is indeed Above All.
    • Was this review helpful to you?
      2 of them share their views

Expert Reviews