2019 MotoGP Provisional Calendar Announced

The 2019 MotoGP provisional calendar continues with 19 races including Sachsenring and Silverstone venues, while Mexico and Finland have been dropped despite being announced.

View Photos
The 2019 MotoGP calendar will have its first race on March 10 in Qatar and last one at Valencia

MotoGP has issued the provisional calendar for the 2019 season and championship will continue to host 19-rounds, much like the current season. Promoters Dorna have also confirmed that a new venue has not been added to the calendar for 2019, despite two new tracks being announced to be added next year. MotoGP has dropped the Mexico and Finland venues for 2019, while the Sachsenring and Silverstone circuits will continue to host the premier-class championship. The 2019 MotoGP World Championship will commence in Qatar on March 10, a week prior than last year, while the final race will take place at Valencia on November 17. The Qatar Grand Prix also remains the only evening race on the calendar.

With respect to the Mexico and Finland venues, the Mexico GP was dropped from the calendar largely due to safety reasons surrounding the Audtodromo Hermanos Rodriguez facility in Mexico City. Meanwhile, the Finland's KymiRing circuit that was supposed to host its first MotoGP race in 2019 will not be ready till the deadline. Hence, it has been dropped the calendar for next year, but could just be a part of the 2020 schedule.

Dorna has also worked upon the length of the summer break, which is now back to a four weeks in 2019, after it was criticised by riders for being too short this year. This was accommodated by making the Assen and Sachsenring rounds back-to-back, while the latter will take place a week later than it did in 2018. The Misano and Aragon rounds will also take place back-to-back, in order to avoid the clash with the Formula Italian Grand Prix at Monza.

2019 MotoGP Provisional Calendar


March 10 - Qatar GP - Losail International Circuit
March 31 - Argentina GP - Termas de Rio Hondo
April 14 - Americas GP - Circuit of the Americas
May 5 - Spanish GP - Circuito de Jerez-Angel Nieto
May 19 - French GP - Le Mans
June 2 - Italian GP - Autodromo di Mugello
June 16 - Catalunya GP - Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
June 30 - Dutch GP - Circuit Assen
July 7 - German GP - Sachsenring
August 4 - Czech GP - Automotodrom Brno
August 11 - Austrian GP - Red Bull Ring - Spielberg
August 25 - British GP - Silverstone Circuit
September 15 - San Marino GP -     Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli    
September 22 - Aragon GP - MotorLand Aragon
October 6 - Thai GP - Chang International Circuit
October 20 - Japanese GP - Twin Ring Motegi
October 27 - Australian  GP - Phillip Island Circuit
November 3 - Malaysian GP - Sepang International Circuit
November 17 - Valencia GP - Circuit Ricardo Tormo

For the latest auto news and reviews, follow CarandBike on Twitter, Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Be the first one to comment
Thanks for the comments.